So this post is all about how to create that messy bed head look – deliberately!  Perfect tousled hair doesn’t just happen when you roll out of bed.  It takes serious dedication and time to get absolutely right – you know you’ve got it right when you’ve taken so long to do it that you miss the bus for school!  Probably best to get up a bit earlier!

The golden rule is don’t go over board otherwise you could look like someone has stuck a bird’s nest on top of your head – or worse, you could create a kind of matted back-combed mess which you might actually have to cut out.

So, first things first – make sure your hair is cut right in the first place.  This look is difficult to achieve if your hair is all one length and bluntly cut.  Next time you go to the hairdressers, ask for LONG layers and some SHAPING around your face with some FEATHERING at the ends .  This will create texture and movement within your hairstyle.  Here are some pictures of me having my hair cut by Paul at Balance:

IMG_2388

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now for the styling!

STEP 1

You need lots of root lift and volume.  Hairdressers achieve this by drying your hair in sections using a round brush, but this is very difficult to do yourself so the best thing to do is apply some MOUSSE to your roots, tip your head upside down and dry your hair with the hairdryer.  Make sure you hold the hairdryer a good distance away so that your hair doesn’t get caught in the little fan thing!  You can use your fingers to SCRUNCH your hair as it dries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 2

Depending on the type of hair you have, this might be all you need to do, but for me, I have dead straight, fine hair and it needs a little more styling.  So I use my straighteners to create ‘beach’ curls.

Photo on 31-01-2013 at 21.06 #2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

STEP 3

I have discovered a wonder product that helps style my hair – it’s called Label M DUST.  You literally sprinkle it on like salt on chips!  You don’t need much, but it creates a subtle ‘stickiness’ that enables the hair to be TOUSLED! I literally just scrunch the ends and roots so that they look messy.   Spritz with hairspray (I love Elnett – used by all the celebrities) to keep in place.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Et voila …..

IMG_3785

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Products I used:

IMG_3790

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let me know what you think by commenting below and feel free to share any of your own tips! 🙂 x

12 thoughts on “HOW TO DO TOUSLED HAIR

  1. libby says:

    love it oliviaaa;)

  2. Kaelyn says:

    Wow, that looks awesome! 🙂 Do you think it would it work the same on naturally curly hair?

    1. Absolutely! You’re lucky – you don’t need to add the curls like I do! Let me know how you get on and thank you for reading my blog. x

  3. rwhool1 says:

    hey! I nominated you for the liebster awards 🙂 check it out o my blog as well!

    1. Thank you so much – I really appreciate that!
      Olivia x

  4. Emily says:

    i will totally try that out! i have only just viewed your blog but i already love it you’ve given me lots of cool ideas for school thanks x

  5. kalinmei06 says:

    This is awesome! Super helpful 🙂

  6. evesiikins says:

    Reblogged this on Evangeline's Beauty Life! and commented:
    Great advice for tousled hair!

  7. Hayley says:

    Lovely! 🙂 I have really fine hair and I’ve always wanted to style it like you have here… I’m going to try this 🙂 ♥
    englishroses89.blogspot.co.uk

  8. Isabella says:

    Wow, this is amazing!

Leave a Reply

