My entry for the BEAUTY AND THE BEACH 2 BLOGGERS COMPETITION BY TRAVELSUPERMARKET.COM

I was so excited when the brilliant beauty blogger, Scarlett London nominated me to enter the Beauty and the Beach 2 blogging competition sponsored by TravelSupermarket.com.  The challenge is to write a blog post on summer hair, make-up and nails and explain how to achieve it.  This is my entry!  I hope you like it …..

At last, the sun has come out and the temperatures are rising!  It’s time to get your shorts out and your sandals on.   Just as we change our clothes for the season, it’s also a brilliant opportunity to review and update our make-up.  I have been experimenting and have raided my Mum’s make-up box to come up with this look, but the colours are pretty standard and on trend so you can easily copy if you like it.  I am going for a sun kissed gold theme with a pop of vibrant green to make my eyes stand out.  Let me know what you think …..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SKIN CARE: First of all, prepare your skin by cleansing, toning and moisturising.  Preparation is everything!  I am currently using Melvita which is a really lovely, completely natural skincare range designed for young skin.

EYEBROWS: Make sure you’ve plucked all those stray hairs – ungroomed brows are never a good look. Don’t go too thin and remember eyebrows aren’t twins, they’re sisters so don’t worry if they are not exactly the same!

FOUNDATION: Because it’s Summer, no one really likes to cake their face in make-up.  Only apply a thin layer of foundation to even your skin tone and cover up any blemishes using a little concealer.  I am using Benefit Hello Flawless Oxygen Wow in Ivory Believe in Me.  It also has an SPF25 to help protect from the sun’s harmful rays.  Remember to blend until you can’t blend any more – you don’t want any patches or tide marks around your face or hair line.   Finally finish with a light dusting of loose powder to set your foundation and absorb any oil, making your foundation last longer.  TIP – brush downwards so that the tiny hairs on your face lie flat.

COMPLEXION: After you’ve applied your foundation, apply your favorite highlighter to your temples.  I used Sun Beam by Benefit for this particular look as it is liquid in a bottle!  Next, apply some bronzer for that sun kissed look.  I used two of my favourites -Hoola by Benefit as a base and then I added a touch of sparkle using Guerlain Terracota for Blondes.  Apply the bronzer in a ‘3’ formation – start at your forehead and work your way down, brushing your temples, the apple of your cheeks (remember to smile to get the perfect ‘apple’)  and finally a light dust on  your chin.

EYES: Apply shimmery gold eye shadow all over your eyelid, starting from the inner corner and out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next use a darker shimmery brown in the crease of your eye lid and make a kind of ‘number 7’ pattern to join the crease to the top of your eye lid.  Remember to blend blend blend!

Then, instead of using an eye liner, use a lovely sparkly green eye shadow along the upper and lower lash line.  The effect is dramatic and not so heavy as eye liner so it’s perfect for summer.  For the eyes I used the nEstee Lauder Batik Sun palette but you can definitely find similar colours by Bourjois.

Finish with a few strokes of black mascara and you’re done!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

LIPS: I used a coral coloured shimmery lip gloss by Liz Earle to complement the warm golden tones in my make-up.

HAIR:  I’ve decided to keep this simple, so I went for tousled beach  locks.

Start off by curling your hair using either a curling iron or straighteners to create the locks. Then all you have to do is grab two pieces of your hair from the front and pin them back so your hair is out of your face.  You might want to backcomb a little at the roots to give height and volume.

NAILS: I have chosen a spectacular nail varnish to match the hint of green in my eye shadow. It’s a shimmery, metallic, two toned bluey green polish by Chanel called Azure.  You can get similar colours by Barry M.  I always apply an OPI top coat to ensure long lasting shine and glamour!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TAH DAH! ALL SET FOR SUMMER!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PRODUCTS I USED: 

 

IMG_9820

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9826

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9828

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s wishing you a fabulous summer wherever you are! Love Olivia x

 

 

17 thoughts on “SUMMER TIME MAKE-UP

  1. Alice says:

    Looks fabulous! But don’t you have to be 16 to enter? 😦

  2. Noooooooooo – I was nominated by Scarlett London so didn’t check the rules. OMG. Devastated. Thanks for telling me 😦

    1. Alice says:

      I feel awful for having been the one to tell you! Your post was brilliant anyway though

      1. I’m really grateful that you did! And thank you for your kind feedback. x

  3. I was tempted to buy the Estee Lauder Bronze Goddess eyeshadow palette, but orange does NOT look good on me! You’re so pretty!!

    http://www.beautybyericakate.wordpress.com

  4. Lauren says:

    this is brilliant Liv, you’re so gorgeous!:o

  5. Francesca says:

    Fab post Olivia. Your eye makeup looks amazing! x

  6. Maddy Cane says:

    This look is gorgeous, you are so stunning! xxx

    Maddy from UNSTITCHEDD 

    1. Thank you Maddy. I have just checked out Unstitched – beautiful!!!! Thank you for getting in touch. x

  7. The makeup looks amazing!!! So cute 🙂

  8. libbyleach says:

    Reblogged this on libbys healthy blog and commented:
    best beauty blog! x x

  9. This is my first time I have visited here. I found a lot of interesting information on beauty products.

  10. sarijayy says:

    wow, you’re so pretty! Love this makeup look and hairstyle! I’m thinking of getting the Chanel nail polish, do you recommend it?

    1. I only feature products on my blog that I genuinely love so yes, I definitely recommend the Chanel Azure. I have just put it on my toes – they look like jewels!

  11. Love your blog! You should definitely check out Hipster Tops Teen Clothing Store, They sell Hipster Clothing, Crop Tops, Graphic Tees, Crew Neck Sweaters & Hipster Sweaters for teens! excited to see more of your blog posts!

Leave a Reply

