As much as I love Summer, I always feel a sense of excitement as the leaves turn to gold and red and glisten in the low sunlight of Autumn.  The clocks turn back and the days get shorter and colder, but it means we can look forward to new boots, fluffy jumpers, snuggly scarves and movie nights in by the fire.  As our sun-kissed skin fades to pale, it’s also a time to review our make-up look!  Any excuse for an update!  I have raided my make-up box to find some new colours that will work for Autumnal days.  See what you think ….

Step 1. CONCEALER – Dot concealer under the eyes and on the eyelids to cover up any dark circles or bags and apply the concealer over any pesky blemishes to help cover them up.

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 17.32.07

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2. BLEND – Blend all the concealer in using your fingers or a foundation brush. When you blend the concealer in over your spots, (if you have any) make sure to dab on top of the spot to blend the concealer – don’t drag the concealer to blend because the spot will become noticeable. 

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 17.37.44

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The concealer I used is the Pro Longwear Concealer by MAC – works miracles at covering spots!!! The brush I used to blend is the Real Techniques stippling brush.

MAC-Pro-Longwear-Concealer-1064-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3. FOUNDATION – Apply your foundation all over your complexion to achieve an even skin tone and help cover up any  imperfections. Make sure to blend until the foundation looks even and you have no streaks – even apply the foundation on your neck if the colour doesn’t match completely. I recommend getting your colour matched by an expert at one of the beauty counters, never go with the colour that you think will match your skin tone from just looking at it through the bottle or testing it on the back of your hand.

MAC-Studio-Fix-Fluid-SPF-15-Foundation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I used the Studio Fix Fluid Foundation by MAC, I love this foundation! It gives excellent coverage and has a matte finish which is great for during the winter time if your skin becomes more oily.

Step 4. BRONZER – Apply your bronzer in the shape of a 3. Starting from the top of your forehead and then working your way down to the jawline in a three formation. I used Hoola by Benefit.

 

the-three-bronzer-rule-copy-1

 

benefit-hoola-bronzer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 5. EYEBROWS – Fill in your brows using either a brown eyeshadow or an eyebrow pencil. Use thin fine strokes – don’t press too hard otherwise the lines will look to harsh and will look as if you’ve drawn them on. Once you’ve finished filling them in blend the product using an eyebrow brush or an old mascara wand that you’ve cleaned. (I’m growing out my eyebrows at the mo so please excuse them hehe).

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 17.49.04

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 6. EYES – Apply a light shimmery pink colour all over your eye lid as a base, I’m using the shade ‘SIN’ from the Urban Decay Naked 1 palette. By applying a light colour first it makes it easier to blend  all the colours together.

Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 19.47.14

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you’ve applied a light shimmery colour all over your lid, next you’re going to apply a slightly darker shade all over the lid again. I’m using ‘SIDECAR’ from the Naked one palette, it’s a really pretty sparkly bronze colour.

 

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 17.55.53

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next you’re going to take a dark brown colour and apply this on the outer corners of the eyes and in the crease to create a smokey eye, make sure you blend until you’re left with no patchiness or block colours.

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 17.56.43

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After you’ve blended, apply a thin line of black eye liner across the upper lash line to define the eyes you could apply eyeliner along the bottom lash line too if you wanted but I wanted to keep it looking more natural-ish!

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 18.00.14

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Last of all, apply your mascara. A good tip I learnt from a MAC make up artist is to wiggle the mascara wand from side to side as you apply it to avoid clumps and it separates the lashes to create fuller lashes. I used ‘They’re Real’ by Benefit.

 

Step 7 – LIPS – For the lips I decided to go for a dark nude colour. I start off by lining my lips to make sure the lipstick doesn’t ‘bleed’.

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 18.05.55

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After I’ve lined my lips I apply my lipstick, I’m using ‘NUDE’ by Bobbi Brown.

bobbi-brown-nude-lipstick

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 18.22.16

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 8 – BLUSH – As the finishing touch, I applied a shimmery, golden toned pink blush called ‘WARM SOUL’ by MAC to the apple of my cheeks to complete the look.

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 18.04.52

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2014-10-27 at 18.22.59

`

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And that’s the look complete! Tah dah!  x

Screen Shot 2014-10-28 at 00.55.45

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Everyday Autumn Make-up Tutorial

  1. sofiainplaid says:

    Gorgeous!!!!

    Sofia xx

  2. Kaily says:

    Very pretty 🙂

  3. Nude is my favourite Bobbi Brown lipstick. I love this look! Would love if you could visit my blog, just posted my very first post. http://www.thatscottishgal.wordpress.com

  4. BeautiiBerry says:

    Gorgeous! 😀

    I love your blog, and I’d love for you to check out mine, maybe we could do a sneaky blog collab? 😀

    Beautiiberry.blogspot.com

  5. Francesca says:

    Great advice! Loving the video x

  6. Ashley says:

    very good tutorial! I loved it.

  7. Hey there! you have been nominated by me for the One lovely blog award! congratss
    xoxo -BeL

  8. Ellie says:

    Loved this video and post! I am your tenth youtube subscribe! Good luck with it all! I also have a blog. Please check it out and comment as that would make me super happy and put a massive smile on my face.
    http://www.bohoellie.blogspot.co.uk/

  9. Loved it, great look for the Autumn! Mind checking out our blog, about fashion. beauty, lifestyle, DIYs and MORE! BeautiiBerry.blogspot.co.uk

  10. bijoubeauty says:

    Great Tip. I love this look. Your Lip color is just mind blowing. And the way you have used the concealer is perfect. I have one question that how to use Primer?

  11. I’m new to your blog, but I really love it so far. I like how you kept your eye shadow make up very natural by adding a very light pink from the nude palette.I have heard of the 3 rule but never really sure how to use it and your explanation helped a lot, thanks! I love the red lipstick you used. Have you ever tried using a burgundy for autumn as well? I think its a good fall color as well as for winter.

  12. Gorgeous! I love your eyebrows, too!

  13. Titidu says:

    Oh, angle! I really love this video and post. pls share more and more girl =)))

  14. Kaye Lagmay says:

    Love how detailed your posts are x

Leave a Reply

